Home > Computer/IT help, Hiroshima Sunrise, Indie, Music > Direct Link to songs

Direct Link to songs

Ok. Great!

In a previous post I was complaining about how I couldn’t upload songs directly onto my WordPress, and so I went the LONG way round and created a Myspace music profile and everything just so I could link it.. But you still just get a like that a visitor has to actually click on, open a whole new tab, wait for that to load, find the music player, play the song… Yeah. Lame.

But I’ve solved the problem. Here’s the link to the song:

[blip.tv ?posts_id=2273163&dest=-1]

Yeah. Just like that! So much better..

I thought it would probably be of interest to anyone with the same problem I was having to know how I did that.. So here’s what I did.

The thing is.. That extra cash for the video-whatever upgrade is only for the extra hosting facilities. (I think) So it seems you’re allowed to embed audio files, just not host them on WordPress. Suppose that’s kind of obvious now I’m writing it down, but anyway..

1. First I had to sign up for a hosting service. I used Blip.tv. Its a free video hosting site for episode based TV shows.. Actually a pretty rad site (I was browsing while the file uploaded).

2. This is pretty obvious.. But you’ll need a file to upload.. I recorded with Audacity. Yay Open Source!! And I’ve got some other software for editing and VST stuff.. But this one was just a quick demo..

3. Upload the file, and when you’re done.. Blip.tv gives you options for cut-and-paste, one of which is specifically for WordPress.com.

4. Paste the code into the HTML section of your word pad of a new post.

Nice and easy.. (BTW I assume this works for videos too)

Stoked!

Like this post? Why not submit it..

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

  1. tintinnabulant
    June 19, 2009 at 8:39 pm

    Hey, how do you do the direct link to songs? I’ve never quite gotten it down..

    • June 19, 2009 at 11:04 pm

      Um…
      Thats kind of what this post is about.. I think.
      I don’t really understand your question..

      I suppose I used the wrong title really.. Thats how to embed a song.. If you want to just link to a site that the song is hosted on, like Purevolume, of Myspace or whatever, you need to do the whole “<a href=" thing.. But WordPress gives you a really simple option of inserting a link, in the HTML tab if you're not so hot with HTML.. Its all at the top of that block that you type in when you add a new post..

      Is that what you mean?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

